The Jerwood Library’s latest exhibition looks at the ways in which women have contributed to the history of Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.
The Faculty of Music has a rich history spanning 144 years, from its foundation in 1872 as a training college for church music - which came to be called Trinity College of Music - to its present form as part of the Trinity Laban. This exhibition takes a closer look at the women who have worked, studied and innovated at the conservatoire.
These carefully selected pieces from the Trinity Laban archive reflect major changes in the roles of women in British society, as well as the development of music education at home and worldwide through the Trinity College examinations.
To find out more about this exhibition and the women who have helped to make Trinity Laban what it is today, please visit the Jerwood Library blog site: https://jerwoodlibrary.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/new-exhibition-celebrating-the-history-of-women-at-the-faculty-of-music/
The exhibition runs until 24 March at the Jerwood Library, which is based in the Faculty of Music at the Old Royal Naval College, Greenwich, and is open to all visitors. External visitors who wish to view the exhibition should contact the library in advance: https://www.trinitylaban.ac.uk/student-experience/facilities/faculty-of-music/jerwood-library/contact-the-jerwood-library