Trinity Laban jazz alumni prominent in 2014 Parliamentary Jazz Awards nominations

Laura Jurd -cr Linda Nylind

Trinity Laban alumni and teaching staff feature highly in the list of nominations for the 2014 Parliamentary Jazz Awards, which will be announced at the House of Commons on Tuesday 13 May.

British broadcaster Moira Stuart returns to compere the ceremony, now in its tenth year, and which is organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG).

Trinity Laban nominations are -

Jazz Album of the Year - Mark Lockheart 'Ellington In Anticipation' (alumnus, and current teaching staff)

Jazz Newcomer of the Year - Phil Meadows (alumnus, 2012)

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year - Laura Jurd (alumnus, 2013)

Jazz Ensemble of the Year - Adam Waldmann (alumnus, 2006)

Jazz Ensemble of the Year - Oren Marshall (teaching staff)

Jazz Vocalist of the Year - Norma Winstone (Trinity Laban Honorary Fellow)

The All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) was set up by interested Members of Parliament in the UK to promote the use and enjoyment of jazz as a music form. The Group has over one hundred members from both the House of Commons and the House of Lords, and is jointly chaired by Michael Connarty, MP for Linlithgow and Falkirk East and Lord Tony Colwyn, himself a very fine trumpeter and band leader. Administrative services are provided by Jazz Services.

Michael Connarty MP, Co-Chair of APPJAG, said: "These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 10th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honours the best of British jazz.

Pictured - Laura Jurd

Subscribe to our Mailing List

Stay up-to-date with performances and activities happening at Trinity Laban.

Subscribe now