Skip to main content

Hollywood Five Honoured by Trinity Laban

Fri 25 October 2019

Alumni Gavin Greenaway, Paul Mounsey, John Powell, Emlyn Singleton and John Ashton Thomas receive Honorary Fellowships in recognition of their professional accomplishments and collective contributions to film music.

From composition, arrangement and orchestration to conducting and performing, Gavin Greenaway, Paul Mounsey, John Powell, Emlyn Singleton and John Ashton Thomas have all enjoyed extraordinary careers.

Between them, they have worked with iconic artists including Diana Ross, Jamie Cullum, Adele, Michael Bublé and Amy Winehouse, and amassed credits on blockbusters including Black Panther, The Hunger Games, Pirates of the Caribbean and many more.

First meeting at Trinity College of Music (now known as Trinity Laban) in the 1980s, the five have continued to work together in various permutations, including collaborating on the score for Solo: A Star Wars Story, the eleventh instalment of one of the highest-grossing film franchises ever.

The five returned to the Conservatoire on Thursday 24 October to share shared industry insights, career highlights and personal memories of their student days.

The unique celebration included Q&A workshops with current composition students and an in-conversation evening event in the Laban Theatre led by Dominic Murcott, Head of Composition and Megan Storer, Masters student and Innovation Award Winner.

Speaking at the event about his studies, Award-winning composer John Powell, who has composed some of Hollywood’s top film scores including How to Train Your Dragon and the iconic Bourne trilogy, commented –

“Conservatoires are about the people that you are with during your studies and the influence they have on you. I was able to make a lot of music during my time here. I loved the fact that I was given the space to create.”

The spirited and entertaining evening concluded with the awarding of individual Honorary Fellowships, presented to the five by alum and current Governor Rebecca Allen, President of Decca Records UK.

The citation, read by our Principal, Anthony Bowne, included the following tribute –

“Collaboration is at the heart of what we do here at Trinity Laban, so it is wonderful to see our alumni fostering a core value of ours whilst making their mark on the profession.

Most people alive today are likely to have heard something that these five have been involved with, which is certainly an impressive thought.

They have demonstrated versatility, adaptability and creativity, and their work makes them true role models for students wanting to succeed in the notoriously competitive performing arts industry.”

As Honorary Fellows, the five join a glittering roster of industry-leading professionals including John Lunn, Gary Crosby OBE, Gillian Moore CBE, Jude Kelly CBE, Richard Alston, Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE, and Lin Hwai-min.

Find out more about studying at Trinity Laban on our composition pages.

Image – top row L-R: John Powell & Gavin Greenaway; bottom row L-R: Paul Mounsey, Emlyn Singleton & John Ashton Thomas (credit Tas Kyprianou)