Skip to main content

Marisa Munoz Lopez wins Daryl Runswick Composition Prize

Fri 23 March 2018

Following a night of brand new music from six student composers at Trinity Laban, Marisa Munoz Lopez was named winner of the 2018 Daryl Runswick Composition Prize on Thursday 22 March. She was selected by judge Max Reinhardt, presenter of Late Junction on BBC Radio 3.

The Contemporary Music Group, directed by Gregory Rose, performed the second year BMus students’ new pieces, which this year were all inspired by different aspects of south east London, past and present.

Introduced by Head of Composition Dominic Murcott at Blackheath Halls were –

Marisa Munoz Lopez – The Lesser of Two Evils

Jan Margolius – pistol poem no.2

Monika Mia – i’m going deeper underground

Jess Ward – Night Trains

Markas Michmel – Time Shift

Ben McGettigan – Far from Britain’s shore

Both Ben and Marisa took inspiration from Deptford’s naval history, with judge Max Reinhardt noting you could “feel the sea flowing through” Ben’s rousing Far from Britain’s shore.

With a nod to ’90s funk band Jamiroquai, Monika used Deptford’s underground nightlife as her theme, while Jan drew on William Burroughs’ ‘cut up technique’ and the striking architecture of Trinity Laban’s buildings (King Charles Court, the Laban Building, and Laurie Grove) to write pistol poem no.2.

Markas explored Greenwich Observatory, shifting time, and the idea of countries linked through Greenwich Meantime, while Jess explained that her work was inspired by late-night trips on the DLR between Canary Wharf and Cutty Sark as a cure for insomnia.

In summing up the night, BBC Radio 3 Late Junction presenter Reinhardt said he could “hear lifelong careers in those works”. He selected Ben and Marisa’s work as his favourite compositions, and ultimately appointed Marisa’s piece as the “one that swept me most away”.

Responding to the history of King Charles Court, the statue of Lord Nelson, and Patrick O’Brien’s book Master and Commander, Marisa’s The Lesser of Two Evils referred to the conflict between Britain and France. Reinhardt identified elements of both Stravinsky and Morricone in the piece.

Marisa said: “I felt privileged to have my piece performed by Gregory Rose and an absolutely brilliant ensemble along with fantastic works from my colleagues – it was a really rewarding and unforgettable experience.”

Founded by former Head of Composition Daryl Runswick, the annual Daryl Runswick Composition Prize is one of Trinity Laban’s premier awards.

Find out more about studying composition at Trinity Laban on our website.