Skip to main content

Parliamentary Jazz Awards: 2019 nominations

Tue 20 August 2019

Alumni and staff shortlisted at this year’s prestigious awards that celebrate best of British jazz

Following an online public vote, nominations for the 2019 Parliamentary Jazz Awards have been announced.

The shortlist, chosen by a selection panel who represent a broad cross-section of backgrounds and are united in their passion and knowledge of jazz, includes:

  • Jazz alum Cherise Adams-Burnett for Jazz Vocalist of the Year
  • Ezra Collective (featuring alumni Femi Koleoso, Joe Armon Jones, and Dylan Jones) for Jazz Ensemble of the Year
  • Honorary Fellow Dame Cleo Laine for Service to Jazz

Nominated for Album of the Year – won in 2018 by alumni and staff band Dinosaur’s Together As One – is Trinity Laban’s professor of saxophone Jean Toussaint for his most recent album Brother Raymond. Jean was also the winner of the Jazz Education Award at last year’s awards.

Kelvin Hopkins MP, Co-Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), said –

“These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 15th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honours the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are delighted to host another ceremony at Pizza Express Live and we are extremely grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event.”

Established in 2005, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards are recognised as some of the UK’s most important and respected awards, recognising rising stars and established talent.

The winners, chosen by judging members of the APPJAG, will be announced at the awards ceremony at PizzaExpress Live, Holborn, London on Tuesday 3 December 2019.

To learn more about jazz at Trinity Laban, visit our jazz pages

Image: Cherise Adams-Burnett (Tas Kyprianou)