Skip to main content

Success at Jazz FM Awards 2019

Wed 1 May 2019

Trinity Laban alumni and staff receive awards across six categories at this year’s ceremony.

On Tuesday 30 April – International Jazz Day 2019 – Jazz FM hosted their annual awards ceremony at Shoreditch Town Hall in East London.

Presented by Jazz FM broadcasters Chris Philips and Jez Nelson, the evening honoured a diverse list of artists, but the vibrancy of the UK’s thriving young jazz scene was a key theme of the night and Trinity Laban alumni were at the heart of the accolades.

Composer and saxophonist Cassie Kinoshi, an alumnus who leads the immensely popular SEED Ensemble, bagged Breakthrough Act of the Year; fellow alumnus and rising star Cherise Adams-Burnett was named Vocalist of the Year after opening the ceremony with a captivating stripped-back duet with Eric Bibb; and following her meteoric rise over the past 12 months, the public voted 2016 graduate Nubya Garcia the UK Jazz Act of the Year.

The evening closed with an incendiary performance by Steam Down, the South London collective founded by jazz alumnus Wayne Francis. Steam Down were double winners, receiving both The Innovation Award and the Live Experience of the Year Award for their residency show featuring US jazz giant Kamasi Washington.

Also honoured at the event was saxophonist and Trinity Laban jazz professor Jean Toussaint, who won Instrumentalist of the Year.

Congratulations to the winners, and also to nominees Joe Armon-Jones, Moses Boyd, Daniel Casimir, Mutale Chashi, Twm DylanCamilla George, Oscar Jerome, Dylan Jones, Femi Koleoso, Jake Long, Sheila Maurice-Grey, Amané Suganami, Emma-Jean Thackray, and Honorary Fellow Gary Crosby.

As London’s Creative Conservatoire, Trinity Laban is an internationally celebrated centre of excellence grounded in tradition but continually looking forward, supporting talented performers and creators to be artistic leaders. Learn more on our study pages.