Skip to main content

Trinity Laban jazz alumni and students part of ‘landmark collaborative moment for British jazz’

Fri 9 February 2018

New compilation album We Out Here showcases London’s bright young jazz scene and features a host of alumni and current students.

With musical director Shabaka Hutchings at the helm, the album brings together a collection of rising London jazz stars who feature across the tracks in various collaborative combinations.

Moses Boyd, drummer and two-time MOBO award winner for Best Jazz Act (2015 & 2017), teams up with rising-star saxophonist Nubya Garcia to perform tracks ‘The Balance’ and ‘Brockley’. 

In-demand Garcia also joins Jake Long, Twm Dylan, and Amane Suganami as Maisha for ‘Inside The Acorn’ and plays on Joe Armon Jones’ track ‘Go See’ alongside Oscar Jerome, Dylan Jones, Daniel Casimir and Mutale Chashi. For her own solo track ‘Once’, Garcia recruits fellow alumni Casimir, Armon Jones and Femi Koleoso. 

Reorganising yet again Koleosoand Armon Jones unite with current student Dylan Jones as Ezra Collective to present ‘Pure Shade’, whilst Jerome joins Sheila Maurice-Grey, Cassie Kinoshi, and Mutale Chashi, as afrobeat band Kokoroko to play ‘Abusey Junction’. 

The album has already garnered several amazing reviews:

“The energy and sounds that these collectives are producing demand your immediate attention.” Jazzwise Magazine

“There is no doubt that everyone featured here is “one” to watch…a historic moment in the development of the jazz scene.” London Jazz

“Finding difference in repetition and originality in the patchwork mire of influence, this is surely jazz for the future.” Clash Magazine

Prior to the launch, the album was brought to life during a 2-day event at Total Refreshment Centre 25 – 26 January that championed collectiveness and collaboration. The event featured live performances, panel discussions, DJ sets, and debut screenings of a documentary film about the making of the album and the scene that inspired it.

Continuing recent successes, Trinity Laban jazz alumni continue to flourish in 2018. Alongside We Out Here, Moses Boyd, Nubya Garcia, and the Ezra Collective were also individually nominated for Album of the Year at the Gilles Peterson’s World Wide Awards 2018.  The award ultimately went to Juan Pablo: The Philosopher from Ezra Collective.

Ezra Collective leader and drummer Femi Koleoso will be returning to Trinity Laban for our annual cross-faculty collaborative celebration CoLab.

To find out more about studying jazz at Trinity Laban, visit our jazz pages

To find out more about CoLab, visit our pages