Skip to main content

Trinity Laban presents an Honorary Fellowship to Rosemary Butcher

Thu 5 November 2015

Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance has presented an Honorary Fellowship to renowned choreographer Rosemary Butcher, in recognition of “her remarkable lifelong contribution to the development of contemporary dance, and her profile as one of our greatest living artists”.

The award was presented by Professor Anthony Bowne, Principal of Trinity Laban, at a private reception attended by Butcher’s friends and colleagues.

Mirella Bartrip, Trinity Laban’s Director of Dance, read the citation, which included the following tribute:

“We are here tonight to honour Rosemary Butcher’s remarkable achievements over nearly four decades, during which time she has become regarded as one of our most innovative choreographers. She has made more than 50 works, many of which have toured internationally performed in over 40 countries, memorably presented in theatres, galleries, museums, art houses and installation environments.

Alongside her profile as dance and visual artist, Rosemary’s contribution as teacher and mentor is also significant. Her work with students, emerging artists and teachers has influenced dance pedagogy and, in turn, developments within dance, its presentation and curation.

She has courageously remained an independent artist. In her use of cross arts collaboration, and in her frequent choice of non-theatrical spaces for presentation, Rosemary’s work has made a unique and significant contribution to contemporary dance as an art form.

Rosemary is driven; she is compelled; she is forensic in her exploration of movement and in pushing dancers to excavate the endless possibilities of the body; she is original; she is special.”

Following the presentation of the Honorary Fellowship, guests were treated to a video tribute, featuring extracts from some of Butcher’s most important works.

Trinity Laban Honorary Fellowships are awarded each year to distinguished artists, practitioners, educators and professionals in the fields of the performing arts and education. Previous recipients have included choreographers such as Matthew Bourne, Merce Cunningham and William Forsythe, and musicians such as Wissam Boustany, Sir Edward Downes, and Ravi Shankar.

Pictured (L to R): Mirella Bartrip, Rosemary Butcher, Anthony Bowne

Photo: JK Photography