Skip to main content

Trinity Laban Teaching and Supporting Learning Awards

Thu 5 November 2020

London’s creative conservatoire announces the winners of its annual Awards scheme for teaching and support staff.

The Trinity Laban Teaching and Supporting Learning Awards scheme recognises staff members who have made an outstanding contribution to learning and teaching, reflecting the conservatoire’s innovative and nurturing learning environment.

For 2020, all staff were invited to nominate any colleague or team of colleagues who has positively influenced student experience through an activity or initiative over the past three years.

Nominations were shortlisted by the cross-faculty Awards panel, who named a total of 9 awardees based on the demonstration of innovative teaching, championing of collaborative approaches and the enhancement of TL’s learning culture, especially in response to the recent challenges of Covid-19.

Trinity Laban is delighted to announce the following staff members as recipients of the inaugural Awards:

Natalie Harman (Musical Theatre Department Coordinator) – nominated for her work developing internal and external communication channels that have assisted in the transformation of the learning environment for teachers and students within the Musical Theatre Department. During the pandemic, Natalie lead arrangements for an online showcase which enabled 85% of students to secure representation. Natalie has also organised a range of creative activities including a recruitment workshop for students from Asia, Taster Days, TLMT Easter Programme in partnership with Blackheath Halls, and The TLMT Concert Series.

Melanie Henry (Saxophone teacher) – nominated for her enthusiastic engagement with working groups, projects, and curriculum reviews, helping to support the transformational aspirations of the Faculty of Music. Also nominated for her commitment to students’ pastoral care – including the organisation of online meet-ups and social media activities during the pandemic – and her leadership of the Saxophone Festival.

Tom Hobden (Dance Lecturer) – nominated for his work re-writing the 413 Leading Dance in Community Settings module to encompass an incredible amount of knowledge and information for the students around dance and technology, how to set up and protect yourself online as an artist, and approaches to artistry and delivery. In response to the pandemic, he turned an extremely daunting experience into one in which everyone could learn from.

Juliet Jackman (Student Information Officer, Music) – nominated for initiating activities to mark Black History Month in 2017 and developing the celebrations year on year to include performances, film screenings, walks and talks. These events have helped to foster a culture that encourages students and staff to consider issues of diversity and inclusivity in their work.

Dominic Natoli (Vocal teacher) – nominated for his development of an audition masterclass that led to employment opportunities for students at Opera Holland Park, and for the organisation of a Tosti Concert involving male students to attract more male singers to conservatoire study. Dominic also led the way in moving vocal teaching online during the pandemic and created an online introductory video for incoming students.

Ian Peppiatt (IT/AV Advisor) – nominated for creating user-friendly, globally accessible, space-saving systems for storing and accessing AV recordings, research outputs, technical guidance and equipment booking, at no purchase cost. He has brought creative technical solutions to the Faculty of Dance and assists students to produce high quality footage of their work.

Adam Saunders (Music Lecturer) – nominated for his contribution to the development of the BA Music Performance and Industry programme, bringing his experience of L&P activities and professional music production experience to the team. Also his enthusiasm for working in the community, helping students to create schools performances and giving them an understanding of creative leadership.

Daniel Squire (Dance Lecturer and Music Coordinator) – nominated for his work with musicians, enabling the development of the relationship between music and dance within the institution.

Joe Townsend (Head of CoLab) – nominated for his creative leadership of the CoLab festival and role in creating collaborative spaces for Music and Dance, as well as the co-creation of the Voices from Industry series, the TL Innovation awards and co-leadership of TL MADE. Joe has changed the culture of the institution by bringing in prominent contemporary professional voices and through his development of the BA Music Performance and Industry programme.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees.