Skip to main content

Dance Science at One Dance UK Awards

Thu 10 October 2019

Trinity Laban’s Professor Emma Redding, Khyle Eccles and Katy Chambers have been nominated for awards

The One Dance UK Awards recognise the outstanding contributions of professionals and practitioners who have made an impact on the UK’s vibrant dance landscape over the last 12 months.

This year, three members of staff at Trinity Laban have been nominated across three different categories.

Professor Emma Redding, Head of Dance Science, has been shortlisted for two awards. The Dance Science Award recognises a dance scientist who is making a significant positive impact on dancers’ health, wellbeing and performance, while the Research in Dance Impact Award is given to an individual or organisation to recognise a rigorous piece of research or inquiry, informed by the needs and questions of those working in dance.

Also nominated in the Dance Science category is Katy Chambers. Physiotherapist Katy is also nominated for the Dance Healthcare Practitioner Award, which is for individuals who show exceptional clinical practice in their chosen specialism and combine this with a deep understanding of the needs of the dancers they work with.

Lecturer in Dance Khyle Eccles has been shortlisted for the Inspirational Lecturer at College, University or Conservatoire Award. This celebrates dedicated practitioners who motivate students with a passion for learning, inspiring the next generation of performers, choreographers, teachers and practitioners. Khyle lectures on our undergraduate Contemporary Dance programme and our Dance Science Masters programmes.

Alongside Emma and Katy, alum Dr Imogen Aujla, who completed her PhD at Trinity Laban, is nominated for the Dance Science Award.

Alumni have also been nominated across other categories including Sanjoy Roy for the Dance Writing Award and balletLORENT for Innovation in Dance Award. The dance company is led by Artistic Director Liv Lorent.

Congratulations to all our nominees.

The winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony in November.

Image L-R: Professor Emma Redding, Khyle Eccles, Katy Chambers