Skip to main content

Success at the Parliamentary Jazz Awards

Wed 11 October 2017

A number of Trinity Laban alumni are celebrating wins at the prestigious Parliamentary Jazz Awards, which were held at PizzaExpress Live on 10 October.

The Album of the Year prize was presented to Dinosaur – comprising alumni Laura Jurd, Elliot Galvin, Corrie Dick and Conor Chaplin – for their album Together As One. This is yet another accolade for this hugely successful album, which received a 5-star Guardian review and was shortlisted for the Mercury Prize.

Winners of Newcomer of the Year were the septet Nérija, which features Trinity Laban alumni Nubya Garcia, Sheila Maurice Grey, Lizzy Exell, Cassie Kinoshi and Rosie Turton. Nérija have enjoyed a breakthrough year in 2017, with blistering performances at some of the UK’s major jazz festivals.

Established in 2005, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards are recognised as some of the UK’s most important and prestigious awards, recognising rising stars and established talent. Alongside Dinosaur and Nerija, there were numerous other nominations for talented Trinity Laban students, staff and alumni.

For more information on jazz study at Trinity Laban, visit the Trinity Laban website.